A tough one…….political conversation

As of the last 7 years or so,  I’ve considered myself fairly politically conscious.

And as many of my friends know, I can be pretty passionate about certain things…..but not passionate enough to alienate friends and family (hopefully)!

I was reading an article in an article about a  radio personality who did indeed alienate friends to the point of ending friendships based on political ideals.  I never want to be that person.  I do get upset when people don’t care about the world around them because it affects their lives, but I will not impose my will on someone who I know can’t be swayed, OR demean or”de-friend” them for not listening to what’s going on in the world. IT’S NOT THAT IMPORTANT!!  Is what YOU are saying going to be enough to change the world?  Is YOUR small influence enough to sweep the nation into radical change?  Of coarse not!  And if you think that…you’re fucking jaded.  So why destroy the life around you if, at the end of the day, it means nothing?

Sure I get into my fair share of political arguments with people.  Sometimes heated.  But it’s also proven (wish i had a cite right now) that sometimes arguments can be healthy for relationships.  To NOT argue can be more worrisome.    Eventually though, everything is back to normal.  My father and I get into political arguments all the time.  He’s very right, I’m slightly left of center.  The funny thing is, we have the same basic ideals.  But the small details can get in the way.  Or HOW the message is broadcast.  We go back and forth, and eventually someone just stops talking about it and all is right in the world.

There are SOME people, however, that JUST………WON’T………..STOP.  And THAT, my friends, brings me to the main topic of this post.  Unfortunately, the internet has spawned a bounty of  self righteous, arrogant, know-it-all, my way or the highway trolls.  These people absolutely REFUSE to consider that they may be wrong (while ironically damning you for having different ideas), and usually spout their frequent doomsday message in a very hateful and bombastic way.

We all know these types of people.  And if you DON’T know these types of people, I’m sorry to say…..YOU probably are the asshat.

But do I ever try to knock these people off their self righteous pedestal? Usually not.  I may say one little jerky comment and then walk away from the conversation.  But it never escalates beyond that.  Because, either I have personal issues, or I ‘m just too much of a good natured person.  I guess that one is in the eyes of the beholder.  I don’t want to end a friendship, even if someone is messed up in the head…and I know a LOT of those people 😉

Another issue I have is people that are MY age and think they are socio-political geniuses because they are friends with Glenn Beck on Facebook.  Sure I have my opinions.  But I’m also willing to change those opinions, because I know there are people out there with much more experience than I have.   People who lived through certain things that I can’t begin to comprehend.   I understand my place.  I wish there were a lot more people out there with that quality.  Does that make me a pushover?  Of coarse not!  It means I have a freaking brain and am able to change my opinion based on a non-biased outlook of the circumstances at hand.

As I sit here writing this, I look over at my 1 year old daughter and think…..Holy Crap!  She’s the cutest, most amazingly precious thing I’ve ever laid eyes on.   She means more to me than anything.  You can pontificate your vile trash talk about the political climate until you are blue in the face, but at the end of the day…..it means nothing.  And I feel sorry for you for wasting endless hours of your life reading your biased, propaganda websites  and being angry at the world when there are much more important things in life.

You must ask yourself….am I ACTUALLY making a difference?  Or am I just preaching to the choir?…because those who’s minds I could be changing are turned off by my delivery (and OHHHHH GOD, I guarantee they are!  Trust me, I’ve asked them)

This is a direct call for these types of people to chill out and fucking take it EASY for five minutes.  Yes, I’m still your friend, and I love you

……..honestly

but sometimes you just want to punch the one you love in the freaking face!

Stay classy San Diego!

Leave a Reply

